Family, It Never Stops Growing

I tried to log into WordPress today and realized that I forgot my password.  This is a sign that I need to get back into the swing of things.  Believe me, I am still smiling on a daily basis, and you should be too!

I would like to share a little something that shows you can still smile no matter what is happening in your life.  Even in dark times, there is always a light.  You just need to open yourself to it.

Recently, a family member passed away.  She was my dad’s aunt, married to my Gram’s brother, mother to five of my aunts and uncles, grandmother to a bunch.  Much of my family is like this.  I call people my aunt, uncle, cousin even if that’s not what they technically are.  Sometimes I even forget how I am related to all of these people that I love!  There are just so many of them, and every time we get together it seems like the family grows and grows.  I am very lucky to have all of these wonderful people in my life which is something I am reminded of all the time.

I called my aunt to tell her how sorry I was that she lost her mom.  I wanted to be there for her, help her in any way I could.  Throughout the conversation she ended up consoling me.  She made me smile.  We both smiled remembering her mom, my great aunt, Lorraine.

Lorraine was a very petite, under 5 feet tall, yet powerful lady.  I was always happy to talk to her at family parties.  She told it like it is and was always up for a good laugh.  You could tell she was the head of her family, the family she left so many of her traits within.  Above all, Lorraine was a caregiver, a caregiver to everyone.  I see this in all of my family members.  We will always care for each other and all the people in our lives.  Our family doesn’t just stop at Nowicki, Sava, Banks, Goldsmith, or Kelly.   It extends beyond names as we show the love Lorraine showed us to those we meet along the way.

If you have love share it.  It’s not meant to be kept a secret.

Leave a Reply

