12.10.12 – Out Behind The Barn

I finally got to visit the Ryman Auditorium for the Grand Ole Opry.  I enjoyed a wonderful show from a church pew.  Although this was not a religious experience for me I still had a smile on my face the entire time.  I didn’t know what to expect, but I had a great seat where I could see everything.  People were encouraged to sing along and run up to the stage to take photos of their favorite performers.  I went to see Randy Houser, but I was treated to a bunch of other acts.  Little Jimmy Dickens, who will be turning 92-years old on the 19th of this month, performed and made me laugh so hard that my stomach hurt.  The man is under 5 feet tall and walked out on stage in a rhinestone studded suit!  He was cracking jokes in between songs that even had his band members laughing.  Did I mention that he is almost 92?!  He is still up on stage playing music.  What a grand ole guy!  If you are ever in Nashville spend a night at the Opry.  It’s worth it :-)

SAMSUNG Jimmy Dickens

Leave a Reply

