11.29.12 – My Life in a Backpack

What’s in the bag you ask?  Well, let me tell you a little bit about how I prepared for the current trip I am on.  It is a little different from other trips since I will be staying in hotels for six months.  This time I didn’t need to leave space for practical things, like a tent, mosquito net, sleeping bag, bug spray, water purifier, alpaca blankets.  This time I was able to stuff as many clothing articles in my bag as possible!

Believe it or not, I pretty much have my entire wardrobe in this backpack.  I have 8 pairs of shoes – sneakers, vans, hiking boots, cowboy boots, climbing shoes, flats, flip-flops, and wedges – 3 jackets, 4 pairs of pants, 2 pairs of yoga pants, long johns, 3 sweaters, 3 dresses, 1 bikini, a bag full of undies and socks, climbing gear – harness, belay, chalk bag – work out clothes, winter gear – neck warmer, 2 pairs of gloves, 2 winter hats – a bunch of t-shirts, 4 work shirts, 3 pairs of shorts, 1 lace body suit, and 1 hot pink tank top.  Besides wardrobe I also able to transport all of my toiletries and extra little things.  In the pouch in front of the backpack I carry shampoo, conditioner, body soap, facial soap, razor, lotion, and mouth wash.  On the removable part on the top of my backpack I carry a small plastic bag with my tooth brush, tooth paste, dental floss (yes I am obsessed with cleaning my teeth) vitamins, facial creams, nail cutters, makeup, and a couple of makeup brushes.  In this part I also carry some jewelry that I really don’t wear, tummy ache medicine, nail polish, peppermint oil, electronic chargers, a bandana, ibuprofen, and a brush.  There are a few small compartments on the inside and outside of my pack where I am able to fit my camera, super absorbent towel, a first aid kit, another kit with batteries, rope, tape, matches, and a deck of cards, a poncho, headlamp, sunscreen, water bottle, and a couple of plastic bags just incase.

I also have another small, reusable, grocery bag where I carry my food, orange juice, bowl, fork, hot sauce, tin foil, spice packets, books, and laundry detergent to and from the hotel.

There you have it.  My life in a backpack.  Its not heavy to me, but sometimes people think I’m carrying around a midget or small child.  I guess anything is possible.

Leave a Reply

