11.07.12 – Another World

What’s the one thing that makes you feel normal?  That makes you feel like everything is OK even if it’s just for a little while?  The cinema always takes me to another world.  I watch movies all the time – at home, in the hotel room, in the car – but nothing beats going to the theatre especially when that theatre has a beautifully lit marquee on the front of the building.  I went to the cinema tonight.  It’s been a while which is sad, I used to go at least once a week, but I felt better as soon as I stepped through those doors and walked up to the ticket counter.  I get into movies, even if they are silly.  I really do forget that anything else is happening in my life without having to try.  Tonight I saw “The Perks of Being a Wallflower” which was so good that it made me cry, but I cry at everything.  My mom used to tell me how I would cry when the VHS tape stopped because the movie was over.  You know that snowman movie, it’s a Christmas one, where the snowman and the little boy fly over the world?  It’s silent, no words, just music, but I would cry every time the flying stopped and the screen went blank.  Anyways, “The Perks of Being a Wallflower was really really good.  The actors were believable and there was depth to the narrative.

I decided to see a second film since it was just starting in the theatre across from the one I walked out of.  I walked out of one and into another.  “Pitch Perfect” was about the “real” world of a capella singing.  Forget the high school musical and glee club crap, this is college.  The movie was pretty funny, it even made fun of itself, and I found myself laughing out
loud at some points.  Rebel Wilson was hilarious as Fat Amy.

It was a perfect trip to the cinema!  I laughed, I cried, and I got lost in the movie world and forgot about mine for a minute or two :-)  I forgot what city I was in until I stepped out of the theatre and into Cherry Hill, New Jersey

Leave a Reply

