10.31.12 – Flat Tires and A Sanatorium

Happy Halloween!  Oops, it looks like you have a flat tire and the mechanic needs to run to the next town over which is 45 minutes away to get a replacement tire.  The team and I ended up in Dansville, New York for almost three hours waiting for a tire on our trailer to be replaced.  Since I have a hard time sitting still I decided to go for a walk.  The air was brisk with a little bit of rain, my favorite weather, and it felt good to be outside.  I walked to a park, sat down on a bench, and noticed what I thought was a castle sticking out of the trees on top of a hill.  I took off my sunnies, I didn’t really need them in the first place, and saw that  none of the windows on the mystery building had glass in them!  This is a really good sign for those of us who get excited by abandoned buildings.  I began my journey to the top of the hill to discover Jackson Sanatorium, a castle to some, accompanied by a black cat that crossed my path.  The air around abandoned places really creeps me out, which is part of the draw, but I just can’t bring myself to go inside when I’m alone.  I’ve tried and failed.  All attempts end after I stand in an empty room for five minutes psyching myself out by believing I will encounter a ghost if I go any further.  I’m getting the shivers just thinking about it.  This fear is just something I can’t turn off.  If I’m with another person it’s not there, but when alone, eek!  I took a couple of photos of the outside of this asylum and considered it my Halloween treat :-)

Leave a Reply

