10.2.12 – Bandelier and Little Homes

Can you believe it’s already October?!  September flew by, but we are now in my favorite month out of the year.  I’m going to try to make it the best October ever!  I finally got to use my hiking boots today as I took a trip to Bandelier National Monument.  I had no idea what I was getting myself into, but the place was recommended by the concierge.  You need to park at a visitor’s center and take a shuttle up the road past breathtaking views of the Rio Grande.  When I arrived at Bandelier I was handed a guided tour map on loan from the park rangers, and I was on my way.  As I walked through the canyon I stopped at all the marked points reading the descriptions in my guide book.  I was a tourist, sun screen on my nose,  camera around my neck, and some trail mix in my backpack.  I got to the base of the cliffs only to look up and see holes just big enough for a person to fit through.  All these holes lead to rooms where the native people used to live!  Just imagine staring up at a mountain side and seeing people, not animals, jumping in an out of a bunch of little holes.  It was incredible!  The park even let you climb ladders into some of these “homes”.  It was wonderful to be in a place were home still meant the same thing as it does now – place to sleep, store food, shelter from the cold/wind/rain, safety from enemies/predators, a place to pray – but these homes were literally holes in the wall.  Some weren’t even big enough to stand up in, and I am only a couple inches taller than the average female that used to live there.

I also added on an extra hike by finding my way to the top of the cliffs these people built into.  I was able to see down into the canyon as well as see the mountains beyond, to infinity and beyond that is.

Leave a Reply

