11.23.12 – Travel Theme: Liquid

A blogger I started following proposes a new travel theme every week.  I’ve decided to take her up on the offer.  Make sure you check out Where’s My Backpack for more weekly challenges!

Inflatable pool full of dad’s hot air
I was three years old splashin’ everywhere
And so began my love affair with water

 

On a river bank with all my friends
A big old rope tied to a limb
And you’re a big old wuss if you don’t jump in the water

 

And when that summer sun starts to beatin’ down
And you don’t know what to do
Grab your swimming trunks, ice up that old Igloo
And drive until the map turns blue

 

All you really need this time of year
Is a pair of shades and ice cold beer
And a place to sit somewhere near water

 

This is how my family does water according to a song by Brad Paisley.  I was thrown into a pool before I could even walk.  I learned to fish when I was just big enough to hold a pole.  I know how to drive a boat, drink beers on a boat, wakeboard, tube at a nice relaxing pace, deep sea (lake) dive, snorkel, float on a raft, jet ski, swim at night, and post importantly, I know how to appreciate the family that I get to spend time with, in and out of liquid.

9 thoughts on “11.23.12 – Travel Theme: Liquid

  1. Pingback: Travel Theme: Liquid. « the unbearable lightness of being me.

  2. Pingback: Travel theme: Liquid (Manila Ocean Park) « Miljo Anne

Leave a comment